Arms Farm
In the 1700s and early 1800s Gate Farm and Arms Farm were two small unnamed farms, but were farmed together from about 1830.
According to the Victoria County History, Arms Farm farmhouse 'was possibly built in the later 18th century. It has a two-storeyed main north—south range with a symmetrical west entrance front. A narrow single-storeyed service wing along the east side was heightened to match the main range.'
The farm was possibly named after the Inn on the opposite side of the High Street, which was called the Tylney Arms Inn before becoming The Welllesley Arms in the early 1800s.
The Toll House
Gate Farm, Gate Court and Gate Cottage get their names from the fact that there was a Toll Gate to the west of the village during the 1800s, when the High Street was part of a Turnpike road from Bristol to Oxford. Throughout that time there was a small Toll House on the north side of the road. The house, in the field immediately west of 2-4 High Street (Box Cottages), was demolished in the 1880s when the Turnpike system ended.
The toll gate can be seen on the 1839 map as a line across the road between #45 (now Gate Cottage) and #46 (the Toll House).
Agricultural & Countryside
Discover more places in the places index.
Places Index